christmas

“Christmas is a time for nostalgia, but it is also a time for making new memories. Enjoy the fellowship of new friends, and cherish the company of family in this season of loving and sharing.”

Every year since Courtney and I have been dating, we created our own tradition; colour coding our Christmas outfits. While I’m sitting here, typing away, I can’t recall how this madness all began. And now it’s something we fight about whenever the festive season is approaching. So obviously, we had many arguments with what colour or theme to go with. I distinctly remember it started off with wearing denim and somewhere along the way I threw in the colour yellow which might I add, didn’t gel well with Courtney. Finally, we settled with florals.

Last year it took us more than 10 hours to find anything Mint for me but this year, we knew what we were going for. However, when we entered the fourth store (in a mall that has over 400 stores), I couldn’t find anything remotely floral decent enough to wear to church. We decided to fill our bellies first before making our way into other stores still yet to discover. Eventually, I came upon this beautiful green brushed stork shirt dress which by my delight, Courtney liked. I fitted it on and was a bit skeptical on the fit but thought, “What the heck. Let’s take it.” No. The sales woman was not having it and before I could put my clothes back on, she handed me this gorgeous floral knee-length wrap dress.

That was that. I fell in love with this Antonia printed wrap dress from Poetry and Courtney just had to make do with the accents on the dress. The price did, however pinch my pocket but if you love something like I loved this item, we closed our eyes and purchased it because we had no more energy to waste looking for some damn floral clothing item that I probably won’t wear again.

Courtney on the other hand, wasn’t keen on looking just basic. We searched everywhere for at least a shirt that had the same flowers like the ones in my dress but we couldn’t besides bold and vivid flower prints so we went with simple colour accents like his Chinese collar shirt from YDE and a beige chino pants at Markhams. Both of us decided not to splurge any more money and searched in our closets for shoes that matched our outfits.

I know Christmas is not about the clothing we wear but, this is a tradition both Courtney and I look forward to do every year, irrespective if we do sometimes want to strangle each other in the mall.

This year we spending Christmas lunch with Courtney’s family and if I understand him correctly, it won’t be a huge occasion. Wherever you may be this holiday, treasure your loved ones and laugh, smile and eat to your hearts content. Be safe on the roads and make tons of memories but most of all, have fun!

Merry Christmas to all my readers and if you don’t celebrate this day, may you have a wonderful holiday.

merry christmasmerry christmasmerry christmasmerry christmasMerry Christmas

Until next time.

A bunch of nuts fell out

Leave a Reply

