dont look back

After much thought and deliberation, I realised it was time to say goodbye to my second job which will come into effect at the end of this year. What started out as a part-time journey became a full blown 9 to 5 job and the responsibilities kept doubling by the minute. I could no longer keep my actual primary job separate from the so-called part time one. It resulted into me having to step out of the office constantly to answer calls and emails from the media, writing press releases, sending out newsletters, writing website posts and scheduling social media content during my lunch times and arranging shoots on odd occasions. It was simply too much!

It does mean that I will have a salary drop come January 2017 but I’ll take that any day then being unable to breathe, rest or enjoy life. It got so bad that I missed out on so many activities I once loved due to having to work on weekends or late in the evenings. The withdrawal symptoms haven’t kicked in yet. I just know that I’ll be closing this chapter of my career by looking forward and to stop looking back on what could have been and how I could’ve done things differently.

About this look: You won’t believe how long I had this red and navy pleated skirt in my closet and I just couldn’t find anything to compliment the colours. I told myself that I simply need to keep it cool by wearing a plain tank top seeing that summer is kinda upon us (Cape Town weather sucks!). What I love about pleated skirts is that it’s quite eye-catching. Some will find that wearing a pleated skirt can be intimidating or old-fashion but pleats actually elongates your legs that’s if you choose the correct footwear. So I got these gorgeous red suede block heels with laces to pull the whole outfit together. I love how bold and vivid the red heels makes the outfit stand out without having compensate that it’s a two-tone outfit.

dont look backdont look backdont look backdont look back

Images by: Arlene Marthinus

Pleated Skirt: Choice Clothing | Tank Top: Mr Price | Block Heels: The Fix

Until next time. A bunch of nuts fell out

One thought on “Fashion | Don’t Look Back

Leave a Reply

