Let's chat with coffee

Three demanding jobs in the law and luxury fabric industry.  A fashion, book and lifestyle blogger with a recently added travel section in the mix. Constantly planning new adventures and countries I’m adding  to my extremely long bucket list. Trying out new cuisine with a little hint of being a food critic.  Attending social gatherings with friends I can probably count on my two hands. In a full-time committed relationship with a guy who needs loads of attention. Sounds great, doesn’t it? Only problem is is that I’m constantly bored!

I was having a conversation with a friend the other day about how I would like to study further but I have no idea what to pursue because nothing seems exciting. In the same sentence I mentioned that I’m tired of being constantly bored hence why in High School I changed my subjects every six months. It was a true miracle I completed my Degree without having to change my career path (My mother is secretly happy I haven’t wasted her money). But it seems as though the more I try out new things, the more I get bored really quickly.

This isn’t due to a lack of enthusiasm because for number one, I’m always game to try out something different. I am not depressed by all means nor do I suffer from anxiety. I can admit though that I can’t focus on a task for too long before I mentally wander off onto something else. I’m entirely sure that is something I can work on. According to Scientific American stated that, “it is possible that the roots of boredom lie in a fundamental breakdown in our understanding of what it is we want to do. Bored people tend to score low on measures of self-awareness. They find it difficult to accurately monitor their own moods and feelings and hence understand what they truly want”. 

This might be accurate to a certain degree and trying to find the answers by simply just typing in on Google won’t suffice either. I do entirely believe that i’m not the only facing this dilemma and it’s a sad one. I’m now sitting behind my desk, feeling lost in my own world knowing full well that I have a great life and I don’t know what to do. I’m now looking for fulfilment in ‘things’ like my IPhone and spend hours online, browsing through items I really don’t need and day dream about countries and places I’m saving up for but I’m worried that once I’ve tick off the things on my bucket list, once I’ve achieved everything I wanted to achieve in life, will I be fulfilled?

My boredom is a total mystery in it’s own right and I’ll probably never find the answers to my unraveling emotion towards the activities I divulge in on a daily basis. I know that there are many out there that face this same predicament. I’ve read all the tips on how not to be boring or bored, I’m doing everything interesting and fun but I just can’t find that contentment and joy out of any of it. I do enjoy the activities and work I do but sometimes it doesn’t feel like it’s enough.

Are you facing the same issue? Please let me know your thoughts!

Until next time.

A bunch of nuts fell out

4 thoughts on “Chat | Let’s chat with coffee

  1. Oh Thank you I am not alone!!!! But what I have realised is that if we dig deeper very deep and confront our emotions we will find the answer ! I believe you have
    The answer already but you just don’t want to go THERE that’s including myself not to worry! Am telling you its an emotional tornado! !! Please I’m not analysing your feelings I have no right I am also preaching to myself as you have manage to break into an emotional whirlwind ha haha….mine
    Thank you for much honesty it help in thinking I am not alone

    Like

    1. I’m so happy that I’m not the only one out there that feels this way. I’m always open to ideas and thoughts so I agree with you, lol I’m an emotional tornado. We can totally be in this together! Have an awesome day, Michelle xoxo

      Like

  2. What I want to know is where you get all the energy to be so bored! I’m already exhausted with one job much less three like you have. But I do admire your lust for life.

    Like

Leave a Reply

