Let's chat with coffee

As many of you might know, my profession entails communications, marketing, social media and PR and with that, I need to be tech savvy with all the latest trends and apps.

So when Snapchat came onto the market, I saw many bloggers and celebrities jump onto this bandwagon while I sat in a corner thinking to myself, “Damn! Another app I need to take into account. I can’t keep up!”. It’s trendy and has a multitude of flattering filters. So, there is no denying the power this app has.

So what is Snapchat? According to CEO, Evan Spiegel, Snapchat really has to do with the way photographs have changed. Historically photos have always been used to save really important memories: major life moments.

Let's chat with coffee

To me, Snapchat is like any other social media platform. I’m already on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest (I hardly use), Linkedin and google plus and already that takes up so much of my time having to mange all these platforms simultaneously.

I honestly don’t have the time to balance my iPhone; having to make sure it’s steady in the air and shoot videos of me eating food, being at an event or simply just strolling to the mall. That is what taking an image is there for. A picture says a thousand words, remember?

To be honest, I’ve already seen myself becoming more and more anti-social. And to add another platform to my list will not do me any justice. I asked my partner when I got Instagram if he is okay with me snapping images of our food or simply asking him to take a picture of me when we go out because his one of those guys whose not social media mad like I am. He typically doesn’t mind but he also made me realize that it has taken up a lot of our time together which is virtually true.

I’m happy to not be part of the snapchat movement. If you want to capture a moment in time, a mood or merely just a look, shoot it the right way, where the only thing to be stretched will be your imagination.

Until next time.

A bunch of nuts fell out

 

Leave a Reply

